Lighting Effects

After I filmed my bedroom/memories scene I was really unsatisfied with the end result, I don’t have enough time to re shoot as my male character has gone away for a couple of weeks so I decided to see if there was anyway I could add the effect of gel lighting to my clips, similar to that of the Justin Bieber video I posted a while ago. I found several videos and below are the ones I found more helpful.

How to use light leaks. LightLeakLove. Vimeo. Available: http://www.vimeo.com/76207319

Lighting effect. Adobe Premiere Pro. Best Pro Action. YouTube. Available:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uKyL-czNbYg

   

    
   

Light Leaks& Colour Bleeds. Chapter 16. Pages 125-134. Colour Correction Look Book. Creative Grading Techniques for Film and Video. Alexis Van Hurkman.

The above videos and book helped me input some red lights into my film. I used the spotlight in lighting effects and placed them at different angles of my frame. Admittedly they are not as good as the Justin Bieber music video but I am happy I have managed to teach myself how to do this kind of effect and I have also learnt that to get the same effect as JB’s music video, I am going to have to use some form of gel/colour lighting which is something i hope to be able to use next semester!

Screen Shot 2015-12-08 at 00.31.50Screen Shot 2015-12-08 at 00.31.27Screen Shot 2015-12-08 at 00.31.40Screen Shot 2015-12-08 at 00.31.12

Leave a comment