Romance Genre

As romance is my genre for my fashion film and it is where I got my initial inspiration to have a relationship as my sub theme, I decided to go to the library and find some books. I got Routledge Film Guide Books: Romantic Comedy by Claire Mortimer. The book is spread over 7 chapters detailing different aspects to Romcom’s including The heroine, the hero, the comedy of romance, British Romantic comedy, the stars and happily ever after. As this book is primarily about Romantic Comedies, I decided to give it a read anyway as I thought there could be some useful information for me to obtain and there was.

To me, romance as a film genre is primarily targeted to female viewers, notably young females who have a desire and need for finding a boyfriend/getting married etc. I enjoy romance films that have a very strong female lead, someone who is career driven much like Sarah Jessica Parker in ‘I Don’t Know How She Does It’. The first sentence in this book is ‘Romantic Comedy has proved to be one of the most enduring cinematic genres[1]’  This type of genre gets its more than fair share of stick but for some reason, rom coms are some of the best films I have ever watched and no doubt they will continue to be.

I can immediately tell if a film is going to be about romance based on the actors or from the title of the film, You only have to look at film posters such as Safe Haven, The Notebook, The Vow and The best of me to instantly obtain the genre to the film. I have noticed however, after writing the above statement I went back to check the film posters and they all have a very similar poster, there is always a very conventional image on the page, the male and female lead about to kiss, something I always seemed to miss, surprisingly.

The next sentence I noted from the book was ‘,as the tragectory almost always involves the seeming loss of love and beloved when despair and disaster prevail. [2]’  This takes us to the very conventional motif of Romance films, in almost every film in this genre contains two people who fall for each other but can not be together, one lead character has a partner already, they don’t find each other but need each other, cheating. This is the initial stages of the films conflict, as the film progresses you see the conflict being resolved and then you have that ‘Happily Ever After’, this is noted further down in the book- ‘a romcom has a certainly distinctive narrative structure: boy meets girl, various obstacles prevent them from being together, coincidences and complications ensue, ultimately leading to the couples realisation that they were meant to be together [3]’

‘A second variation on the romcom narrative is that of the couple experiencing love at first sight. [4]’  As cheesy as these scenes are, they are my favourite and I am instantly disappointed when I don’t get to see this in a romance film, this is definitely going to be a scene within my fashion film.

The Meet Cute, ‘one of the defining moments of the romcom, when the couple first encounter each other, generally in a comical and prophetic circumstances. [5]’

‘Certainly, the romcom tends to feature urban settings, domestic spaces, often desirable apartments, restaurants and other social spaces. A romantic comedy requires a setting’ [6]

 

[1] Mortimer, C. Routledge. Romantic Comedies. 2010. Oxon. Pg 1

[2]Mortimer, C. Routledge. Romantic Comedies. 2010. Oxon. Pg 3-4

[3]Mortimer, C. Routledge. Romantic Comedies. 2010. Oxon. Pg 4

[4]Mortimer, C. Routledge. Romantic Comedies. 2010. Oxon. Pg 5

[5]Mortimer, C. Routledge. Romantic Comedies. 2010. Oxon. Pg 5-6

[6]Mortimer, C. Routledge. Romantic Comedies. 2010. Oxon. Pg 6

 

Leave a Reply

